Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA Player Of The Year 2016Football

January 10, 2017 05:25
Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA Player Of The Year 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo became the first football player to win FIFA Men Player of The Year Award. Recently FIFA jointly presented the FIFA Ballon d’or with French Magazine, but from this year onwards FIFA presented their own player of the year award.

Certainly 2016 was the best year for the Portugese International, he almost claimed all the major  trophies this year, both with Real Madrid and Portugal, Champions league, Euro cup, UEFA Super cup,  FIFA club world cup. He also claimed individual honors, he was awarded UEFA player of the year and has won the Ballon d’or for the fourth time.

“2016 was the best year of my career,” Ronaldo said in Portuguese in his acceptance speech, which he began by exclaiming “Wow, wow, wow.”

He also said “It would be impossible to win the award without the support from my teammates, coach, family and all the fans who supported me.

He also took a dig on his rival’s ‘Barcelona players’ who were not present at the award ceremony “I am sorry that players from Barcelona are not here with us, but that is understandable.”

Cristiano Ronaldo got 34.54 % of total voting points in a 23-candidate ballot. Where as Lionel Messi received 26.42 %, and third-place Antoine Griezmann got only 7.53 %. Voting was conducted by FIFA and it was voted by the national team captains and coaches, selected media, and fans online.

Lionel Messi’s Barcelona won the Spanish league and cup double, though he captained Argentina to lose the Copa America final.

After the award ceremony, a statue of Lionel Messi was vandalized at Buenos Aires in Argentina. Which was made after Messi retired from International football.

FIFA Team of the Year 2016 was also revealed

Manuel Neuer (Bayren Munich, Germany)

Dani Alves (Juventus, Brazil)

Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madridr, Spain)

Gerard Pique (Barcelona, Spain)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Andre Iniesta (Barcelona, Spain)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina)

Luis Suarez (Barcelona, Uruguay)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, Portugal)

Real Madrid clinches its 3rd Title


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(1 Vote)